Videoke: The International Language of Fun!

After traveling on this cool ferry with beds:


we finally arrive at Tablas Island.   We eat before our hour drive across the island to Alcantara, where we will be working for the next 2.5 weeks.  After being up since 3:30 am, finishing my last assignments medical school (graduation time, whoop whoop!), minimal sleep for days, I AM EXHAUSTED!  Maybe this afternoon is finally my opportunity to sit and rest.  So when talk begins about attending a party this evening, I ignore it.  There is no way I’m going anywhere; its sleep time.

We get to our newly constructed home, a luxurious spa resort compared to what CFHI prepared us for: Nadia and I have our own C.R. WITH A SHOWER!!!


I breathe a sigh of relief.  I’ve been taking extra-long showers before today, just knowing they would be my last ones for a month.  I’m momentarily disappointed that I won’t be doing the bucket/dipper method, at least once, but that feeling dissipates quickly.  Alec is going to be staying at the governor’s mansion, an antique house, complete with the bucket/dipper method bathroom.  I’m totally not jealous.  I’ll just schedule my one time experience at his house, then go back to my shower at home.

So anyways, I look out the back of my home and see the ocean, just a few yards away.  Forget a nap….it’s water time! Luckily, Nadia has the same idea.  The climate is so hot and humid, Obviously, getting in the water is the only remedy.


I float in the water feeling at home again and cooled off.  Now going to the party doesn’t seem like such a miserable idea.  Besides, the party is actually a pool party, another chance to get in the water.   We take a motorized tricycle to the party (about 30-45 min away) and meet some of the locals.  Super friendly people.  We are fed, I hop in the water (of  course), and then try to learn some Tagalog with them.  Someone dares me to sing on the karoke machine and I reply, “whatcha got?”  Its on now!


We all go the videoke machine and I pick a song I think everyone will know: Killing Me Softly by the Fugees.  As I sing, everyone joins in and others, Americans and Filipinos, make their selections.  Everyone usually know the songs: My Humps by Black Eyed Peas, Sometimes by Brittany Spears, Unwell by Matchbox 20.  The best selection was Dancing Queen, complete with a spontaneous dancing party.  Filipinos and Americans, united by pop music.

I leave feeling fulfilled and already creating my song selection list for next time.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

